Veteran Bharatanatyam dancer, teacher and abhinaya exponent M K Saroja, the 7th recipient of the E Krishna Iyer Medal, received the Medal from the Sruti Foundation on 22 December 2000 at Sri Krishna Gana Sabha, Chennai during the valedictory session of the 20th All India Natya Kala Conference.

Sri Kapali Fine Arts of Chennai conferred the title of Natyajothi to Dhananjayan and Shantha Dhananjayan on December 14, 2000 at the Music Academy mini hall.

Bharath Kalachar Awards:
The title of "Natya Kala Bharathi" was conferred on Nithya Ravindran.
The title of "Yuva Kala Bharathi" for dance was conferred on Sailaja Ramji, Priyadarshini Govind, Lakshmi Ramaswami, Sridhar and Anuradha Sridhar.
The titles were conferred on December 10, 2000.

The title of "Nadanamamani" was conferred on dancer A.Laxmanan by Kartik Fine Arts on December 3rd 2000.

Srinidhi Chidambaram was chosen to receive the "Nritya Choodamani" award for the year 2000 given by Sri Krishna Gana Sabha as part of their annual dance and music festival.

A sensational dancer of his time, Bhaskar Roy Chowdhury who lives in New York has been confined to the wheelchair for the past 23 years. He is now recovering from a broken hip and injured shoulders, but he's a fighter and despite his continuing health problems, he faces the world with a smile. Narthaki Online wishes him a speedy recovery.

"Kalaimamani Awards" for Dance - Bharatanatyam
Jayalakshmi Arunachalam
Shailaja Ramji
Revathi Muthusami
Charulatha Jayaraman
Kuttalam M Selvam
Girija Ramaswami

The SANGEET NATAK AKADEMI AWARDS list for 1999 and 2000 were finalized by the general council of the Akademi at its meeting in Guwahati on November 14, 2000.
Dancers who received the award -
K Kalyanasundaram Pillai, Leela Samson and H R Keshavamurthy (Bharatanatyam), Shovana Narayan (Kathak), Swapnasundari (Kuchipudi), Nelliyodu Vasudevan Namboodiri ( Kathakali), Sorokhaibam Narau Singh (Manipuri), Minati Mishra and Madhavi Mudgal (Odissi), Bharati Shivaji (Mohiniattam), Parmanand Barbayan (Sattriya) and Mallika Sarabhai (creative dance).
The veteran R K Dhingra (lighting), Kahal Ghosh (theatre music) and Robin Das (scenic design) have been recognized for other theatrical aspects. B V K Sastry, Nemi Chand Jain and Shanta Serbjeet Singh have been chosen for their overall contribution to performing arts.

The Sattriya dance of Assam has been recognized as a major Indian classical form of dance, thus ending a 42-year-old struggle by its exponents to achieve the coveted status. This was announced by the Sangeet Natak Akademi secretary Jayant Kastuar during a presentation of Sattriya dance programme at the Rabindra Bhavan in Guwahati on November 15, 2000.

Highlights - Yearwise listing