Welcome to the first in a series of intimate first -person sharings from dancer daughters. These talented and determined women take time to acknowledge the contribution their mothers made in the shaping and making of their dance careers. As with all mothers, the supervision went much further than the dance studio and stage. Meenakshi Chittaranjan, Bharatanatyam dancer and guru, inaugurates our monthly column on the women who birthed us who stood by us until the end... our mothers!
Enjoy and send us your comments.
Anita R Ratnam
Managing Editor


To Mother, with love
- Srinidhi Chidambaram
e-mail: dr.srinidhi@gmail.com 



Spontaneous, yet measured
- Chitra Chandrasekhar Dasarathy
e-mail: chitracdasarathy@gmail.com



Blessed to be the daughter of Jayalakshmi
- Urmila Sathyanarayanan
e-mail: urmila.sathyanarayanan@gmail.com



My mother, My dance
- Jothi Raghavan
e-mail: jothi_nrityanjali@yahoo.com



The journey continues
-  Malavika Sarukkai
e-mail: malavikama@gmail.com



Oh, how I miss you! 
- Ananda Shankar Jayant
e-mail: ananda.jayant@gmail.com



Iím also coming!
- Rama Vaidyanathan
e-mail: vaidyanathan.rama@gmail.com



My Mother
- Ramli Ibrahim
e-mail: ramlii@gmail.com



Mother and daughter or daughter and mother? 
- Aniruddha Knight
e-mail: aniruddhaknight@gmail.com



She showed me the way
- Vinay Kumar
e-mail: vkvinayadishakti@gmail.com



Parvati, my rock!
- Geeta Chandran
e-mail: geetachandran@gmail.com



My mother is my Rock of Gibraltar
- Alarmel Valli



For the rain to restÖ: A tribute to N. Nagalakshmi
- Ramaa Bharadvaj
e-mail: ramaabharadvaj@yahoo.com



My mother Parvathi
- Deepa Shivananda, Bangalore
e-mail: deepa_july@yahoo.com



Amma Endru Azhaikaadha Uyir Illayae
- Sweta Ravisankar
e-mail: sweta.natyam@gmail.com



Demystifying Maya
- Madhu Nataraj, Bangalore
e-mail: stemdance@hotmail.com



My mother
- Ileana Citaristi, Bhubaneswar
e-mail: ileana5@hotmail.com



Aai: my dearest mother
- Jhelum Paranjape, Mumbai
e-mail: jhelum@smitalay.com



Remembering Indrani: September 19, 1930 - February 5, 1999
- Sukanya Rahman
email: artinsider@harpswelldesigns.com



Amma: My inspiration
- Roja Kannan, Chennai
e-mail: rojakannan6@gmail.com



Rukku: My mother
- Chitra Visweswaran, Chennai
e-mail: vichitra50@gmail.com



Eternal inspiration
- Vasumathi Badrinathan, Mumbai
e-mail: vasu@vasumathi.net
- Responses



God could not be everywhere so he created Mothers
- Meenakshi Chittaranjan, Chennai