Srjan presents
21st Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2015
Rabindra Mandap, 6.30pm
Sept 5 - 9, 2015 Bhubaneswar

September 4, 2015

For the last 20 years Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award has been presented on an annual basis in the field of Dance, Music, Theatre & Cinema to exceptional individuals. The award carries Rs 50,000 (each) and a citation. The award for 2015 will be presented to two eminent personalities. Guru Giridhari Nayak in the field of Dance and Dr. Shantanu Mohapatra in the field of Music.

Renowned artistes from inside and outside the country will be performing in the festival. On the concluding day, Srjan will perform three new presentations. 
1) “Vitthala Smarane” describing Lord Vishnu. This will be in Marathi language, written by Sant Namdev, a famous poet of Maharashtra.
2) “Tarana” has chosen to embark on new pathways of innovation, creating an amalgam of the classical and the contemporary.
3)  The opus of the evening’s dance programme is titled “Namami Gange”.  After showing the mythological background of the great river emanating from lord Shiva’s dreadlocks and inundating the vast Indo-Gangetic spaces of north India, the production leads the audience through the last century’s violence, desecration and pollution of the grandest river of India. The dance ends with a fervent appeal to join forces in cleaning and nurturing Mother Ganga.

The dance choreography for all 3 presentations has been done by Ratikant Mohapatra. The music composition for “Vitthala Smarane” is by Pt. O.S. Arun, for “Tarana” by Dr. Vyzarsu Balasubramanium and for “Namami Gange” by Sri Laxmikant Palit. The Sanskrit text for “Namami Gange” has been written by Sri Nityananda Mishra.

The 21st annual Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award will be held at Rabindra Mandap, Bhubaneswar from 5th to 9th September 2015 at 6.30 pm.

5th September
Sharmila Biswas, Kolkata (Odissi)
O.S Arun, Chennai (Carnatic Vocal)

6th September
Mandakini Trivedi, Mumbai (Mohiniattam)
Guru Satchidananda Das, Bhubaneswar, (Odissi Mardala)

7th September
Vidhya Subramanian, USA (Bharatanatyam)
Pt. Kumar Bose, Kolkata (Tabla)

8th September
 “Samarpan,” Mumbai. Major Band dedicated classical fusion
Ninad Mulaokar (flute), Manas kumar (violin), Gautam Sharma (percussion),
Vishal Dhumal (keyboard), I D Rao (saxophone), Ojas Adhiya (tabla)

9th September
Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2015 presentation
Ratikant Mohapatra with artistes of Srjan (Neo-classical innovation in Odissi dance) 

Ph: (0674) - 2592192