Mythili Prakash bags the Devdasi National Award

November 5, 2011

The three day 6th Devdasi National Dance Festival and the Devdasi National Award presentation ceremony came to a close on 14th October 2011 at Rabindra Mandap, Bhubaneswar. The State Tourism and Culture Minister Prafulla Samal, State Forest and Environment Minister Debi Prasad Mishra, Principal Secretary, Tourism and Culture, Govt. of Orissa Ashok Kumar Tripathy, President of Devdasi Nrutya Mandir Prof. Ramahari Das were present on the occasion.

The Devdasi National Dance Festival witnessed the distinguished styles of Indian classical dance styles like Odisssi, Bharatanatyam, Kuchipudi, Kathak, Manipuri, Mohiniattam, Sattriya, Kathakali and the Mahari temple ritual dance of Orissa. About 14 brilliant dancers from India and abroad participated and performed solo in the festival, which was conducted in association with Department of Tourism and Culture, Govt. of Orissa, Indian Council for  Cultural Relations (ICCR), Eastern Zonal Cultural Center (EZCC, Kolkata) and with the help of some corporate houses.
Mythili Prakash

Vidha Lal
Rasmi Raj
The artistes who performed at the festival were Sampuran Baliyar Singh (Mahari, Puri), Maria Laura Valdez (Odissi, Peru), Prativa Sharma (Sattriya, Guwahati, Assam), Monalisha Shuvadarshini (Odissi, Islamabad, Pakistan), Sinam Basu Singh (Manipuri, Imphal, Manipur), Vidha Lal (Kathak, New Delhi), Rasmi Raj (Odissi, Bhubaneswar , trained at Nrityagram, Bangalore), Akshara Mohan Das (Mohiniattam, Thrissur, Kerala), Sunita Sahu (Odissi, Bhubaneswar), Probal Gupta (Kathakali, Bangalore), Mythili Prakash (Bharatanatyam, Chennai & USA), Shashwati Garai Ghosh (Odissi, Kolkata), Prateeksha Kashi (Kuchipudi, Bangalore) and Sitara Thobani (Odissi, Canada & London).

The Devdasi National Award is the first of its kind instituted in 2006 by the Devdasi Nrutya Mandir, Bhubaneswar. The award goes to one outstanding dancer below the age of 40 years from all the 8 styles of recognized Indian classical dances in a cyclic style. The previous awardees were Shibani Patnaik for Odissi in 2006, Yamini Reddy for Kuchipudi in 2007, Parwati Dutta in 2008 for Kathak, Meernanda Barthakur for Sattriya in 2009, Methil Devika for Mohiniattam in 2010 and this year, Bharatanatyam dancer Mythili Prakash received the award for 2011. 

The selection of artistes as well as the awardees is made in consultation with a panel convened and coordinated by Shyamhari Chakra, a senior art critic of The Hindu, Bhubaneswar. The festival is also designed and guided by Chakra since 2006.